Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello, my dears. I hope your week has been lovely.

I want to share with you all the awesomeness that is Five Minute Friday. Some of you have probably heard of it or participated in it before. However, as you know, I’m a newbie, so I’m just now discovering it for myself.

For those of you who don’t know what it is, Five Minute Friday is a link-up party hosted by Kate Motaung over at her blog, Heading Home. Kate gives out a new one-word writing prompt every Thursday evening for anyone who would like to take part in this five minute free writing exercise, and you don’t have to have a blog to participate. For more info, visit this link.

The word of the week is “Plan.” Here I go!

START

Life never goes how you plan for it to go, does it? One minute you have all these ideas about where your life is headed and then it changes in the blink of an eye.

If someone had told my younger self what my life would look like today, I would never have believed it. I never would have believed that I would end up married to the nerdy boy (I say that lovingly) who asked me out, and who I turned down, in 8th grade. I never would have thought I’d live where I live. I wouldn’t have imagined that I’d be married for almost nine years and still not have kids, or much less that the not having kids would be attributed to my unexpected diagnosis with PCOS in 2007, and most especially not that I would one day be truly content with the idea that I may never be a mom (the natural way, anyway).

I didn’t plan for my life to be what it is. No one ever really does. But as I sit here in my bed tonight, next to my sleeping husband who I didn’t plan to marry, in the town I never expected to live in, I am truly happy. As the song goes, “God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers,” and I thank God every day that He gave me what I needed, and not what I planned and hoped and prayed for so many years ago.

STOP

Well, that was fun, and not too shabby for my first go at FMF! Come back next week for a new FMF post!

Love,
Katie

Song of the day: “Royals” by Pentatonix. Pentatonix is my all time most favorite group ever in the history of ever. If you don’t know who they are, PLEASE do yourself a favor and check them out. In fact, I may just have a post devoted to them. I never get all fangirl for anyone, but I do for PTX. ❤

